2014-04-10 millennialstar.org Reply to Post re-John Dehlin

Wow, so many comments and opinions about JD, almost TMTR (Too Many To Read)…in the spirit of things I think I will throw out some judgmental opinions once more (I believe I have a response back up there somewhere to the original post). And, due to the loveliness of the day and my desire to go hiking, I am not going to spend any time polishing my post, so here goes. JD personifies the scripture that I bring up frequently to my Course 14 class about where to go and not go to seek to know the doctrines of the Gospel:

Where not to obtain answers to Gospel questions.
(Alma 12:9–11)
9 And now Alma began to expound these things unto him, saying: It is given unto many to know the mysteries of God; nevertheless they are laid under a strict command that they shall not impart only according to the portion of his word which he doth grant unto the children of men, according to the heed and diligence which they give unto him.
10 And therefore, he that will harden his heart, the same receiveth the lesser portion of the word; and he that will not harden his heart, to him is given the greater portion of the word, until it is given unto him to know the mysteries of God until he know them in full.
11 And they that will harden their hearts, to them is given the lesser portion of the word until they know nothing concerning his mysteries; and then they are taken captive by the devil, and led by his will down to destruction. Now this is what is meant by the chains of hell.

I think the beginning of verse 11 is getting at the truth for JD, but will not go so far as to say the rest of the verse applies…after all, we are all working out our own salvation and struggling to one degree or another. Nonetheless, I will be frank in stating my opinion. I have listened to almost all JD’s podcasts and for awhile thought maybe he was starting to moderate a bit, perhaps last year, and perhaps in relation to his other life events going on at the same time (struggling getting his doctorate, having second thoughts about where his public efforts were taking some people, etc.) However, after listening to the last few podcasts I (yes) judge that JD has returned again to his vomit. There, I said it, but that is the sense I get…that may sound condemning, but I can say I have been there many times myself during the course of my own life.

As I said before, I believe JD will maintain his appearance of fence sitting because he lacks the courage to publicly acknowledge that he is indeed off. He won’t have the same public exposure when not sitting on the fence. I think his lack of courage became most evident in his reaction to the knowledge that a carefully prepared exposure, history, and rebuttal to his history/methods was about to be published by the Maxwell Institute, which I acknowledge was perhaps not the best forum. But it is published now and can be searched and read on the “Interpreter” website. He appeared distressed back then that he would receive ad hominem attacks from apologists. Wow, that was threatening! He had been doing that for years against others both living and dead (and unable to defend themselves). Why not just welcome any publications seemingly against him and just respond in detail? I could go on but really want to go out to enjoy the day…

Well, one more thing brought up by JD recently, again. How can anyone, who has read all the evidence regarding DNA and the BofM still insinuate that it has anything to tell us for or against its veracity. It is as complete non-issue and ever will be.

Oh, and one more thing to rant about that still annoys me to no end and I promise I will be done: that was the interview with Michael Coe regarding BofM evidence. I love Michael Coe and have read his books and will reread again (each time before I revisit Mesoamerica). For JD to throw up so many straw men for Coe to knock down became the epitome of the theater of the absurd.

Anyway, I think it is time for JD to just be completely honest, publicly get off the fence, and perhaps answer in detail what others have documented about HIM, perhaps with something written that can be carefully analyzed. I apologize to any who may be offended by my judgmentalism, lack of nuance, and bluntness but this has been quick…

Leave a Reply

